Melbourne Archdiocese Catholic Schools (MACS) Governance Statement

Penola Catholic College is a school which operates with the consent of the Catholic Archbishop of Melbourne and is operated and governed by Melbourne Archdiocese Catholic Schools Ltd (MACS).

MACS governs and operates 292 Catholic schools in the Archdiocese to continue the mission of Catholic education to proclaim the Good News and equip our young people with the knowledge, skills and hope to live meaningful lives and enrich the world around them.

Because the good work of educating the young is a co-responsible task led by every member of the Catholic school community, School Advisory Councils have been established to provide a crucial point of connection between the wider school community and school leaders.

This governance model was designed to ease the administrative burden on our schools and parishes, allow parish priests to focus on the mission of education in the parish, enable greater collaboration between schools and ensure greater consistency in school policies and procedures.

More information on MACS is available at

School Advisory Council

The Council plays a pivotal role in the life of the College. It provides governance and oversight and collaboratively participates in setting the strategic direction of the College. Working closely with the Principal, the Council oversees the College’s alignment and faithfulness to the Charter and the highest quality of stewardship.

To ensure that the Council is in the best position to support the Principal and the College, it is critical that each member of the Council brings skill and experience that complements the skills and experience of the other members, as well as the skills and experience relevant to the Council’s responsibilities.

The School Advisory Council provides a crucial point of connection between the wider school community and school leaders.

Member of the School Advisory Councils are inducted and commissioned at the beginning of each school year.

School Advisory Council Members 2024

Executive OfficerMs Tracey Kift
Custodian of Mission
Fr Dishan Candappa
ChairpersonMrs Karen Harvey Collings
Deputy Chairperson

Mr Anthony Grima

Parent representatives

Mrs Louise Pacor

Ms Anne McLean

Mrs Vanessa Larosa

Mr Mark Buttigieg

College CaptainsMiss Ava De Amicis

Mr Aston Motta

Business ManagerMrs Jennifer Vinten
SecretaryMrs Julie Lyons

Executive Members

Ms Tracey Kift

Fr Dishan Candappa

Mrs Karen Harvey Collings

Mr Anthony Grima

Finance and Risk Members

Fr Dishan Candappa

Mrs Alfina Astuto

Ms Vera Trealor

Ms Tracey Kift

Mr Anthony Grima

Mrs Jennifer Vinten

Mrs Karen Harvey Collings