Anisa Shkembi
Transition Coordinator

+61 3 906 63003
ashkembi@penola.vic.edu.au

The commencement of Year 7 is a time of celebration and excitement. However, it can also be a time of worry and stress as our students and their parents/guardians begin a new journey in their lives. Our students come from all walks of life and our priority here at Penola Catholic College is to provide our students with a successful transition program that further develops their sense of belonging, connectedness and academic self-competence.

Our aim is to provide a transition program which prepares our students for the changes and challenges that they face. Being based at our Junior Campus, our Year 7 students have the opportunity to gradually transition to the high school setting. In Year 7, most of the subject are taken in their normal homeroom classroom; reducing movement around the campus. Students also have their homeroom teacher for multiple subject, where applicable, allowing for meaningful and authentic relationships to be built really early on.

Our Orientation and Transition days are tailored to cater for each individual student’s learning needs. Through our Pastoral Program, Incursions and the Year 7 Camp we plan and implement early intervention and prevention strategies to promote belonging and wellbeing in all students.

During the Year 7 Camp, we encourage our students and support them in further developing their social and emotional skills and forming new connections with their peers and staff. As a team we work together to achieve common goals on having an optimistic outlook on high school life while building resilience and coping strategies for when things might get challenging.

Key Dates

    Year 7 Information Night:

    Thursday 13th October 2022 - Glenroy Campus

    Laptop Distribution:

    TBA

    Year 7 Orientation Day:

    Friday 2nd December 2022

    Year 7 2022, Booklist

    Book orders are to be completed online by TBA

    Meet the team

    College Principal - Mr Christopher Caldrow


    +61 3 9301 2754

    ccaldrow@penola.vic.edu.au

    Head of Campus Glenroy - Mr Stuart Harrison

    +61 3 9301 7807

    sharrison@penola.vic.edu.au

    Coordinator of Students - Mr Paul Barbetti

    +61 3 9301 2789

    pbarbetti@penola.vic.edu.au

    Student Enhancement - Ms Isabelle Carlon

    +61 3 9908 9046

    icarlon@penola.vic.edu.au

    Year 7 Coordinator - Miss Letesha Ruberto

    +61 3 9066 3070

    lruberto@penola.vic.edu.au

    Year 7 Coordinator - Mr Mark O'Dowd

    +61 3 9066 3055

    modowd@penola.vic.edu.au

    Wellbeing Officer (Fridays) - Mr Paul Walsh

    +61 3 9301 7883

    pwalsh@penola.vic.edu.au

    Wellbeing Officer - Mr Tim Ganderton

    +61 3 9301 7890

    tganderton@penola.vic.edu.au


    Psychologist - Ms Teeka Dour

    +61 3 9301 7866

    tdour@penola.vic.edu.au

    Provisional Psychologist - Ms Kellie Smith

    ksmith@penola.vic.edu.au

    Year 7 2022 Information Vodcast

    Please Note: The laptop cost mentioned in this video is incorrect.

    Principal's Tour

    Glenroy Campus